OJBAWO 2019: Incredible Victoria Mathew Emerges Best Debater On Campus - OOU Campus Mirror

Hot: Click HERE To Join our Facebook Page For Up To Date Information About On-goings In The University

To Join Our Active Whatsapp Group Chat, Click HERE

Tuesday 16 July 2019

OJBAWO 2019: Incredible Victoria Mathew Emerges Best Debater On Campus

Victoria Mathew, OJ-BAWO debate winner.

It was an intriguing moment filled with joy as 100 level Earth Science student, Victoria Mathew was announced winner in the debate category of the OOU JAW BOXING AND WRITE OUT (OJBAWO) 2019 competition.

The event which was organized by Olabisi Onabanjo University Literary and Debating Society (OOU-LADS) at Moot Court on  Wednesday, July 10, 2019 to recognize and give accolades to intellectuals that thrive by the power of pen and mouth was witnessed by lecturers and students from various departments including RIYE TV all the way from Lagos State.

The debate competition titled, "Democracy a Reality or Mere Facade" received 8 contenders from various departments supporting and opposing the motion and 15 writers who competed with their golden pens on "Democracy: The Elixir to Nigeria's Social-Political Ills".

Victoria Mathew who opposed the motion saying democracy is a mere facade and not a reality in the debate category emerged first at the grand finale and award ceremony ahead of 7 other contenders winning cash of #7,000 and a medal as an award of excellence.

Who could be the best debater was the rhetorical question from the audience as the event witnessed two strong contenders, Mathew Victoria and Posu Favour, 300L Law student making it to the first position with 33.5 points, the two students slugged it out on "Democracy".

After a thorough judging process by the Panel of judges from the department of Political Science and Mass communication, Victoria came top after progressing to the second level of the competition with Favour who came second and Afolabi Alawode who came third also from the faculty of Law and were awarded N5,000 and N3,000 respectively.

Dr. T. Salami from the department of Political Science who was the Guest Speaker of the programme was also awarded.
Expressing joy, Victoria said it actually feels nice to be awarded as the best debater. But it is not just actually about winning the medal or money, it's all about saying your points and standing strong in what you believe and what is right."

Speaking with OOU-LADS President, Olawale Smart, he said that was impressed with the turn up for the event. He therefore promised that OJBAWO 2020 will be much better assuring the new executives will bring in more innovations.

The writing category was won by Adeyemo Solomon (1st), Michael Egbayelo (2nd) and Kolajo Blessing (3rd).

By Remilekun Ajayi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do You Love The Current Design Of This Blog? We Can Set Up Same Design For You At An Affordable Price.

Click Here Now To Get Started!


Copyright © 2019. Powered by Campus Mirror, OOU.